Home Entertainment Jennifer Lopez, Chris Evans, Brie Larson amongst Oscars first batch of presenters

Jennifer Lopez, Chris Evans, Brie Larson amongst Oscars first batch of presenters

3 min read

The Academy has officially lined up its first batch of Oscar presenters and it is as star studded as anticipated.

A-list stars such as Jennifer Lopez, Chris Evans, Brie Larson, Tina Fey, Daniel Craig, Awkwafina, Whoopi Goldberg, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Amandla Stenberg, Charlize Theron, Tessa Thompson and Constance Wu, will take turns on the Oscar stage to present awards. More presenters are expected to be announced in later weeks.

In previous weeks, the Academy has made attempts to find a host in place of Kevin Hart, after his bow-out from the hosting duties, but every step has proven futile, leaving the 91st show without a host. Knowing the low-ratings in viewership from the 90th show, organizers are putting in extra efforts to save the ceremony from recording a second lower rating this year and as such bringing on board high-profile celebrities on the big stage as presenters.

It was also confirmed at the Academy’s press release that Gustavo Dudamel and the L.A. Philharmonic will perform during the ‘In Memoriam’ section of the show, which pays homage to those in film who passed away last year and early this year. The ceremony will also feature performances from all five original song nominees, contrary to earlier confirmation that only three will perform out of the five.

Jennifer Hudson will perform ‘I’ll Fight’ from documentary RBG, Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper will sing ‘Shallow’ from ‘A Star is Born’, Kenderick Lamar and SZA will perform ‘All the Stars’ from Black Panther, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings will perform ‘When a Cowboy Trades His Spurs for Wings’ from The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, while a surprise special guest will perform ‘The Place Where Lost Things Go’ from Mary Poppins Returns.

If tradition is retained at the Oscars this year, the next batch of Oscar presenters will have on its roster last year’s acting winners (Gary Oldman, Frances McDormand, Alison Janney and Sam Rockwell) as presenters too. The show will broadcast on ABC, from the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center come Feb. 24.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Josephine Amoako
Load More In Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Jennifer Lopez to receive CFDA Fashion Icon of the Year Award

The name Jennifer Lopez, is not new to the books of fashion risk takers. The ‘I aint…