Home Entertainment Apple Music releases A-list of African music for 2018

Apple Music releases A-list of African music for 2018

5 min read

Apple Music’s A-list is a first for the streaming platform and is largely dominated by Nigeria, which has 19 songs featured. The country is followed by fellow West African nation Ghana with 13 songs. Nigerian songs featured in the list include ‘Red Handed’ (Mayorkun), ‘On You’ (Tekno) ‘Wonder Woman’ (Davido), ‘Dabebi’ (Mr Eazi) and ‘One Ticket’ (Kizz Daniel), among others.

Ghana is represented by such songs as ‘Fluid’ (Amaare), ‘Stay Woke’ (DrakoVibes), ‘Feels’ (M.anifest) and others.

South Africa comes third with seven songs including ‘Jungle’ (Nasty C), ‘Wakanda Forever’ (Sho Madjozi), ‘Blame Fire’ (Petite Noir) and ‘Boza’ (Darkie Fiction).

Other artists who appear on the list are Jovi (Cameroon), Aya Nakamura (Mali), Vegedream (Côte d’Ivoire), King Kaka (Kenya), Mbosso (Tanzania), Toofan (Togo), Reniss (Cameroon) and Fally Ipupa (DRC).

Meanwhile, Apple Music’s Beats 1 radio will broadcast a special show about the A-list featuring Sho Madjozi, Nasty C, Darkie Fiction, Shane Eagle, Kwesi Arthur, Amaarae and others.

“The special showcases the sounds coming out of Africa and includes interviews with artists like Nasty C, who discusses the shift in Afro beat culture,” a press release says about the show that airs on 12 December at 8pm CAT. “Plus, Darkie Fiction, Shane Eagle and Sho Madjozi and more reflect on their successes and Africa’s influence on global pop music.”

Below is the full list:

Mayorkun (Nigeria) feat. Peruzzi, Dremo & Yonda – ‘Red Handed’

Tekno (Nigeria) – ‘On You’

Kwesi Arthur (Ghana) feat. KiDi – ‘Don’t Keep Me Waiting’

Davido (Nigeria) – ‘Wonder Woman’

Nasty C (South Africa) – ‘Jungle’

Sho Madjozi (South Africa) feat. Ycee – ‘Wakanda Forever’

Amaarae (Ghana) – ‘Fluid’

Ayo Jay (Nigeria) – ‘Let Him Go’

Mr Eazi (Nigeria) feat. Simi – ‘Surrender

Kizz Daniel (Nigeria) & Davido – ‘One Ticket’

Sho Madjozi (South Africa) – ‘Huku’

Petite Noir (South Africa) – ‘Blame Fire’

Jovi (Cameron) – ‘Ndolé’

Aya Nakamura (Mali) – ‘Djadja’

Vegedream (Congo) – ‘Ramenez la coupe à la maison’

Olamide (Nigeria) – ‘Motigbana’

DJ Snake & Niniola (Nigeria) – ‘Maradona Riddim’

Darkie Fiction (South Africa) – ‘Bhoza’

DarkoVibes (Ghana) feat. Stonebwoy (Nigeria) – ‘Stay Woke’

Shane Eagle (South Africa) – ‘Gustavo!’

R2Bees (Ghana) feat. Wizkid – ‘Supa’

King Kaka (Kenya) feat. Kristoff – ‘Dundaing’

M.anifest (Ghana) feat. Kwesi Arthur – ‘Feels’

Stonebwoy (Ghana) – ‘Smile Time Done’

Wizkid (Nigeria) – ‘Fever’

Mr Eazi (Nigeria) feat. King Promise & Maleek Berry – ‘Dabebi

Teni (Nigeria) – ‘Askamaya’

Burna Boy (Nigeria) – ‘Gbona’

D’Banj (Nigeria) feat. Cassper Nyovest – ‘Something for Something’

Wizkid (Nigeria) – ‘Master Groove’

Fally Ipupa (DRC) – ‘Aime-moi’

R2Bees (Ghana) – ‘Boys Kasa’

Anatii (South Africa) – ‘NDAWENI’

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) feat. Duncan Mighty – ‘Lova Lova’

Joey B (Ghana) feat. La Même Gang – ‘Stables

Sarkodie (Ghana) feat. King Promise – ‘Can’t Let You Go’

Mbosso (Tanzania) – ‘Hodari’

Toofan (Togo) feat. Wale – ‘DJ Dosé

Davido (Nigeria) – ‘Nwa Baby’

Reniss (Cameroon) – ‘Big Tinz’

Fally Ipupa (DRC) – ‘École’

King Promise (Ghana) – ‘Abena’

Olamide & Wizkid (Nigeria) – ‘Kana’

Burna Boy (Nigeria) – ‘Ye’

Adekunle Gold (Nigeria) – ‘Damn, Delilah’

Toofan (Togo) – ‘Affairage’

M.anifest (Ghana) feat. Bayku & Yaa Pono – ‘Don’t Follow Me’

KiDi (Ghana) – ‘Thunder’

Wendy Shay (Ghana) – ‘Astalavista’

Source: MusicInAfrica.net

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Josephine Amoako
Load More In Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Glitz Africa presents She Summit 2019: Beyond Gender

She Summit is back again to connect young, aspiring and ambitious women with personalities…