Home Entertainment AMVCA 2018 Nominees’ List Out!

AMVCA 2018 Nominees’ List Out!

8 min read

Nominees for the 2018 AMVCA were announced on Saturday, June 30 by ace Ghanaian actress Joselyn Dumas and actor/Comedian Bovi in a live telecast on all Africa Magic Channels on DStv and GOtv.

Ghana’s Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Lydia Forson, Adjetey and Chris Attoh made it to list of nominees this year.

Below is a full list of your movie and actor, who made it on the list this year.

Best Short Film/Online Video

  • The Housewife
  • Tolu Penance
  • Lodgers
  • Tanwa, The Child We Wanted


Best Documentary

  • The Flesh Business
  • Nightfall in Lagos
  • God’s Wives
  • Omidan, Styles Defunt by Ayaworanho3D
  • Calabar Carnival;What the People think


Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series – Hausa

  • Mansoor
  • Umar Sanda
  • Dadin Kowa Sabon Salo
  • Uwar Bari
  • Rashinsani


Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV series-Igbo

  • Bound
  • Ofuobi
  • Uwa Na Eme
  • Ntughari
  • Oge Nkem
  • Ego Malaysia


Best Indigenous Langauge Movie/TV series-Yoruba

  • Alakit
  • Adab
  • Etiko Onigebu
  • Egun Iran Kinni
  • Osun Sengese


Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV series – Swahili

  • Supa Modo
  • T-Junction
  • Keru
  • Mkaza Mwana
  • Petu Na Garu


Best Movie Southern Africa

  • Descent
  • The Road to Sunrise
  • Salute
  • Jomako Black Democracy
  • Nyasaland


Best Movie East Africa

  • 18 Hours
  • Devil’s Chest
  • The Forbidden
  • Rain
  • Bella


Best Lighting Designer Movie/TV series

  • Tatu
  • Kada River
  • Hidden
  • Lotanna
  • Children of Mud


Best Overall Movie

  • Potato Potahto
  • Alter Ego
  • 18 Hours
  • Devil’s Chest
  • Descent
  • The Road to Sunrise


Best Supporting Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV series)

  • Toyin Abraham- Tatu
  • Dorcas Fapson- Banana Island Ghost
  • Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi- Tatu
  • Ebele Okaro- BlackRose
  • Lydia Forson- Isoken
  • Emem Inwang- Alter Ego


Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)

  • Aloaye Omoake- Idemuza
  • Kehinde Joseph- Soul Tie
  • Stanlee Ohikhuare- Idahosa Trails
  • Njue Kevin- 18 Hours
  • Mulindwa Richard- The Torture
  • Patrick Nnamani/Koye O/ Moses Inwang- Alter Ego
  • Tomi Adesina- Hakkunde


Best Television Serie

  • Gina and Friends
  • Professor JohnBull- Childless Wives
  • Papa Ajasco Reloaded
  • This Is It
  • Relatives


Best Picture Editor Movie/TV series

  • Idemuza
  • 18 Hours
  • Alter Ego
  • Hakkunde Hidden

Best Make-up Artist Movie/TV series

  • Tatu
  • Ojukokoro
  • What Lies Within
  • Disguise
  • Lotanna


Best Supporting Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV series)

  • Saidi Balogun- Banana Island Ghost
  • Tomiwa Edun- Banana Island Ghos
  • Falz-New Money
  • Kunle Idowu- Idahosa Trails
  • Gabriel Afolayan- Okafor’s Law
  • Wale Ojo- Betrayal


Best Art Director Movie/TV series

  • Don Omope, Uzoma Mike, Ebunoluwa Fatogun-Tatu
  • Jade Osiberu- Isoke
  • Stanlee Ohinkhuare- Idahosa Trails
  • Imoh Umoren- Children of Mud
  • Yusuf Hasan- Hidden
  • Tunji Afolayan- Lotanna


Best Cinematographer(Movie/TV series)

  • Akpe Ododoru- Tatu
  • Dickson Godwin- Idemuza
  • Lester Millado- T-Junction
  • Rwamusigazi Kyakunzire-The Tortur
  • Yinka Edward- Okafor’s Law
  • Bishop Blunt/Adeoye Adeniyi- Alter Ego


Best Actress in a Comedy(Movie/TV series)

  • Bimbo Ademoye- Back Up Wife
  • Queen Nwokoye-Excess Luggage
  • Rita Dominic- The Big Fat Lie


  • Adesua Etomi- 10 Days in Sun City
  • Nyce Wanjeri- Auntie Boss
  • Dakore Akande- Isoken


Best Actor in a Drama(Movie/TV series

  • Agaba Joan- The Torture
  • Keira Hewatch- Witness Box
  • Miriam Kayode- Children of Mud
  • Cinderella Sanyu- Bella
  • Omotola Jalade Ekende- Alter Ego
  • Lilian Echelon- Alter Ego


Best Director(Movie/TV series)

  • Moses Inwang
  • Alaoye Omoake
  • Asurf Olusey
  • Don Omope
  • Jade Osiberu
  • Mulindwa Richard
  • Shirley Frimpong Manso


Best Sound Editor(Movie/TV series)

  • Kolade Morokinyo- Tatu
  • Stanlee Ohikhuare-Idahosa Trails
  • Zezom Gnawni- Alter Ego
  • Dayo Thompson- Ojukokoro (Greed)
  • James Coon Falcon- Hakkunde


Best Sound Track (Movie/TV series)

  • Mo
  • Banana Island
  • Ghost
  • Bella
  • Tatu
  • Idahosa Trails
  • 18 Hours

Best Costume Designer(Movie/TV series)

  • Yolanda Okereke
  • Jade Osiberu
  • Christie Brown
  • Joan Gbefwi
  • Ngozi Obasi and James Bessinone


Best Actor in a Drama(Movie/TV series)

  • Wale Ojo- Alter Ego
  • Kalu Ikeagwu- Benevolence
  • Rushabiro Raymond-The Tortur
  • Adjetey Anang- Keteke
  • Adjetey Anang- Sidechic Gang
  • Chris Attoh- Esohe


Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV series)

  • Kalu Ikeagwu- Dr Mekam
  • Blossom Chukwujekwu- The Big Fat Lie
  • IK Ogbona- Excess Luggage
  • Jimmy Odukoya- Guynman
  • OC Ukeje- Potato Potahto
  • Odunlade Adekola- A Million Baby


Best Movie West Africa

  • Potato Poataht
  • Alter Ego
  • Isoken
  • Tatu
  • Children of Mud
  • Lotanna


Voting for the AMVCAs open  from 8:30pm (WAT) on Saturday, 30th June, 2018 and close on Sunday, 24th August, 2018. All terms and condition apply and are available on the Africa Magic Website. Viewers can join the conversation using hashtag #AMVCA2018 and follow @dstvng, @gotvng and @africamagictv on Twitter for more updates.








Load More Related Articles
Load More By Josephine Amoako
Load More In Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Jamestown To Jamestown Memorial Trip to Ghana announced to commemorate 400 Years of African Diaspora

The Jamestown to Jamestown Memorial Trip to Ghana, an official event of Ghana’s Year of Re…